Shobana Jeyasingh

Shobana Jeyasingh founded Shobana Jeyasingh Dance in 1988 and has since created over 60 original and critically acclaimed theatre, site, and lens-based works. These have toured the UK, Europe, North America, India, China, Singapore and Hong Kong. 

Her most recent works have been commissioned by the Istituto Interculturale di Studi Musicali Comparati at the Fondazione Giorgio Cini; Southbank Centre and The Royal Ballet Studio Programme and performed in The Anatomy Museum at King’s College London; The Federica Schiavo Gallery in Rome; the Venice Biennale Danza 2016; Queen Elizabeth Hall and the Linbury Studio Theatre, Royal Opera House. 

Shobana has honorary doctorates from De Montfort University, Leicester and the University of Chichester. She and the company have been the recipients of numerous awards and honours over the years including the Time Out London award for best choreography and a South Bank Show award for dance. The company was nominated Best Independent Company by the Critics’ Circle in 2012, 2013 and 2015.

Strange Blooms - a special restaging

In Strange Blooms, Shobana Jeyasingh draws her inspiration from the evolutionary tenacity and visual flamboyance of flowering plants. Gabriel Prokofiev's score, though rooted in Louis Couperain’s beautifully plangent Le Complaignante, unfurls new and unexpected tendrils that take the music far beyond its Baroque beginnings. Jeyasingh’s dancers are the 21st century urban blooms who bring to the stage their own complex histories whether flamboyant or muted.

Choreography Shobana Jeyasingh
Dancers Anna Borini, Sofia Casprini, Sam Ford, Joshua Herbert, Beth James, Yasmine Lindskog, Livia Massarelli, Giacomo Pini
Rehearsal director Sunbee Han
Composer Gabriel Prokofiev
Music editor Fred De Faye
Costume Frances Morris
Lighting recreated by Lucy Hansom from an original design by Guy Hoare

The original production of Strange Blooms was commissioned by Southbank Centre in 2013. The music of Strange Blooms by Gabriel Prokofiev is performed by arrangement with Mute Song Ltd.

Original production credits:
Lighting Designer Guy Hoare
Video Designer Jan Urbanowski
Production Designer Bronia Housman
Costume Designer Fabrice Serafino
Dramaturgical Support Chris Fogg
Dancers Avatâra Ayuso, Richard Causer, Sunbee Han, Noora Kela, Simone Muller-Lotz, Teerachai Thobumrung, Lee-Yuan Tu, Hian Ruth Voon